Who are you really grading for?

This includes some well articulated practices we should all adopt when grading. In the end, a grade should represent whether or not, and to what degree a student has learned the content and skills taught, not when they learned it, when they showed you the evidence, or whether or not they did it on a schedule that was convenient for you, the teacher. If you want to report on a student’s study habits, work ethic, or punctuality, you need to work with your school to establish a separate method to do so. Well worth the read!

Art Insubordinate

I have a student who has been in at least one of my classes for the last three years. He’s a spectacular young artist and has more accolades and awards than I can instantly recall. He also has a lot of trouble with his math and science classes. He is what they call an “at risk” student. I have given this student every grade possible, A’s, B’s, C’s, F’s, you name it. Every time I get the same response, which is no response. This young man has no concern for his grade. I’m not sure he’s that concerned about graduating from high school in general. I don’t know that he is even aware of his current grades. All I can say with certainty is that the grade I have given him has never had an effect on his classroom performance.

On the other hand, I have a young woman who…

View original post 1,089 more words

Leave a Reply

