NAEA Presentation Proposal

I have submitted a presentation proposal for the 2016 NAEA National Convention. Have you submitted yours? Well, hurry! The deadline is tomorrow!

I don’t know if my proposal will be accepted, and I may jinx it with this post, but I thought I would share my idea with you.

The presentation is call Stop Grading Art. This is the second in a series after Stop Teaching Art which I presented at both the Virginia Art Education Association conference in the fall of 2014, and the 2015 NAEA Convention in New Orleans. To learn more about the original presentation, you can click here.

Below is a description of the session:

Are you willing to think critically about what and how you grade? Examine common grading practices and consider changes that would better support student learning and align with contemporary artmaking.

This presentation will challenge participants to think critically about the form, function, and future of art education. Art educators from a large school district will propose abandoning old art assessment and grading paradigms in favor of practices that match the expectations of 21st Century education, support student learning, and align with contemporary artmaking practices. A variety of common grading practices will be discussed and examined relative to research-based best practices for assessment. Participants will be asked to analyze what and how they grade, and consider what these practices say to students, teachers, and administrators about the value of art instruction, the nature of art, and the place of art in schools. Examples and alternatives will be shared in this interactive discussion about the future of grading and assessment in our field.

Thanks to my colleague, Carol Trost, who has agreed to develop and present the session with me. I will keep my fingers crossed that it is accepted, and hope to see some of you there in March 2016.

And I hope to come see some of your presentations! If you haven’t submitted your proposal yet, CLICK HERE.

5 thoughts on “NAEA Presentation Proposal”

  1. I’m curious about your thoughts on this. Hopefully it gets accepted. I have been toying with this idea. I let my hs painting class do whatever they wanted for the last 6 weeks and promised them all 100s if they made art every day. They were the most productive they’ve been all year. I think the stress of getting it “right” for a good grade is more damaging than motivating.

    1. It should be an interesting topic to address for sure. In the setting you describe I believe it is a matter of defining which objectives you are assessing. Perhaps this 6 weeks has been about persistence and grit, and the ability to pursue artistic goals in the absence of specific criteria or client demands. Professional artists do this. As long as you balance this with assignments that do give specific parameters, so they experience the other side of creative careers, it can be a reasonable approach. It’s in how you spin it. You have spun it for your students and gotten productivity from them, but I would not describe this as you did above to an administrator and expect them to have any respect for what I do.

      1. Of course. I could list hundreds of objectives my students are achieving, and this is all highly dependent on creating an environment where my students see themselves as artists and not assignees. But I’m an art teacher. The worst part about my job is that the administration doesn’t pay attention to what I do. That’s also the best part. I’m allowed to teach and experiment in ways other educators cannot.

Leave a Reply

